Recognizing gluten-free food: an important symbol of the crossed-out ear of wheat

Recognizing gluten-free food: an important symbol of the crossed-out ear of wheat

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Crossed-out ear of wheat symbol shows gluten-free food
People who suffer from celiac disease (gluten intolerance) have to eat a consistently gluten-free diet in order to avoid complaints. A large range of products that do not contain any adhesive protein can now be found in supermarkets, but they are often not easy to recognize. The crossed-out ear of wheat symbol provides assistance.

Consistently avoid foods containing gluten
Experts estimate that around one percent of the German population suffers from gluten intolerance (celiac disease). Those affected must strictly refrain from gluten-containing products, because even the smallest amount of gluten protein causes them to inflame the small intestine. Typical symptoms such as abdominal pain, diarrhea, flatulence, fatigue and fat stool occur. In addition to the acute complaints, there can be serious long-term consequences. Therapy is not yet available. Only strict avoidance of the adhesive protein can help.

Symbol provides orientation for those affected
This is not always easy when shopping. The symbol of the crossed-out ear of wheat provides assistance here. This symbol, which stands for gluten-free food, provides those affected with orientation in the supermarket and also makes it easier to choose suitable products when traveling. This has been pointed out by the German Celiac Society (DZG), which awards the symbol in this country. As the experts write in a press release, only products that “do not exceed the legally required limit of 20 milligrams of gluten per kilogram (20 ppm) may carry the symbol of the crossed-out ear. Those can be safely consumed by those affected. "

Gluten also in ready meals
It goes on to say: “Food that does not naturally contain gluten, such as milk, eggs, fruit, vegetables or meat in unprocessed form, is exempted from the labeling because it is a matter of course advertising. This avoids misleading use of the symbol for consumers. ”Health experts also point out that gluten-free foods are not equally healthy for everyone. Gluten is not only found in cereals such as wheat, spelled, rye or barley, but is also hidden in many ready meals, sauces and sweets. (ad)

Author and source information

Video: Tips to Avoid Cross-Contamination in Gluten-Free Foods (July 2022).


  1. Daigis

    Wonderful, it is a precious thing

  2. Necuametl

    Agree, it's the fun information

  3. Angelino

    Make mistakes. Let us try to discuss this. Write to me in PM, it talks to you.

  4. Akiramar

    Sorry for interfering, but I offer to go another way.

  5. Hayden

    whether There are analogs?

Write a message